The Department runs academic programmes leading to the following qualifications: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) honours degree, Postgraduate Diploma (PGD), Master of Science (M.Sc) honours degree and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D). The B.Scprogramme is a four-year full-time programme in general psychology, while the PGD programme is a one-year full-time and part-time programme also in general psychology. The M.Sc and Ph.D programmes are both full-time and part-time with minimum of 12 calendar months and 24 calendar months for M.Sc and Ph.D, respectively, and lead to specializations in particular fields in psychology. Combined honoursof Psychology with such disciplines as Sociology and Anthropology, Economics, Political Science, Religion, and Philosophy are also available in the B.Scprogramme. 


The stress areas are as follows:

Cognitive processes

Statistical and methodological issues

Experimental psychology

Physiological and comparative psychology

Social/industrial psychology

Developmental/abnormal psychology

Personality and assessment

Theories and systems

Cultural/environmental psychology